Self Catering Cottages and Bed & Breakfast
Accommodation for Yorkshire Dales & Lake District

The Area

For a map of the area please visit our location page.

Blencarn is a traditional Cumbrian village in the Eden Valley with a picturesque village green, nestling at the foot of the Pennines. With easy access to the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales – this makes it an ideal destination for active visitors as well as those whose aim is sheer relaxation.

There are a huge variety of things to so in the area and this list could go on for pages! We’ve tried to put together a broad selection of things to give you a flavour...

Walking

There are a range of walks from the village from gentle to strenuous, including Crossfell – the highest point of the Pennines

Knock Pike – an easy circular walk around one of the Pikes that sit along the Fells Eden river walks - include The Lady Walk from Edenhall along the river.

There is also easy access to the North Lakes Mountains including Blencathra, Skiddaw, Helvellyn and Catbells

Cycling

The Cumbrian Cycle Network runs through the village and bike hire is available both here and in Penrith.

See - http://www.cyclingcumbria.co.uk

Fishing

Blencarn hosts it’s very own fly fishing lake as well as fishing on the Eden river.

See - http://edenriverstrust.org.uk/

Gliding

Our local gliding club - Eden Soaring - is based less than 2 miles away from us and gliders can regulary be seen in the skies above the village.

Eden Soaring - http://www.edensoaring.co.uk/

Golf

There are two golf courses in Penrith as well as Keswick Golf Club, just 20 minutes away (travelling along A66) 

Penrith Golf Club - http://www.penrithgolfclub.co.uk/

Penrith Golf Centre - http://penrithgolf.co.uk/

Keswick Golf Club - http://www.keswickgolfclub.com/

Tearooms

The Eden Valley is not short of tearooms, serving good homemade local food and beverages. Here are just a few. 

The Village Bakery - Melmerby - http://www.village-bakery.com/

Hartside Café - Hartside on the way Alston

Brief Encounter - Langwathby

The Watermill - Little Salkeld - http://www.organicmill.co.uk/

Mrs Miller’s - Hazeldene Garden Centre, Culgaith

Pubs and Restaurants

There are many good local pubs serving good local food. Here are just a few to wet your appetite. Many have a good range of local beers.

The Kings Arms - Temple Sowerby

The Shepherds Inn - Melmerby

The New Inn - Brampton (near Long Marton)

The Royal Oak - Appleby

A selection of other local interests all less than 30 minutes away

This list could go on a lot longer!!

Carlisle to Settle Railway - Langwathby

Eden Ostrich World - Langwathby - http://www.ostrich-world.com/

Winderwath Gardens - B6412 Temple Sowerby

Acorn Bank Gardens and Watermill - Temple Sowerby - http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/acorn-bank

Brougham Castle - A66 near Penrith

Penrith Castle - Penrith, just outside town centre

Rheged Centre - Just off the M6 junction 40 towards Keswick - http://www.rheged.com/

Alan Stones Open Gallery, Blencarn - http://www.alanstones.co.uk/

Rebecca Payn Open Gallery, Blencarn - http://www.rebeccapayn.co.uk/

Ullswater Steamers - Pooley Bridge - http://www.ullswater-steamers.co.uk/

Paintballing - Just outside Ousby - http://www.paintball-sites.co.uk/Bravo4Zero.html

Go Ape - Whinlatter Forest - https://goape.co.uk/

Swimming at Penrith or Appleby in Westmorland Leisure Centres